John from Tennessee

Hello
My name is John. I live in Tennessee. I am completely new to the guitar. It was something I always wanted to learn and just never took the time. Decided now was the time so I went to a local music shop and picked up a Yamaha FG800 and started the Justin Guitar app on December 30th. I always had an interest in learning but I had no idea how much I was going to enjoy it. I’m not good enough to even claim I can “play” the guitar and it has already begun to change my everyday life. I cant get enough. Sure wish I would of started years ago.

4 Likes

Welcome, John. I too, am new to the guitar and to this forum. I look forward to learning from Justin and joining you on this journey.

Welcome the community John

That’s a really good guitar to start with, John. Glad you are off to an exciting start!

1 Like

Hey John,
You’ve started at the beginning of a great ride. This is a great spot to ask any questions, or to voice your frustrations. The fingers will stop hurting, and when you think you’re not making progress you’ll have a break through. If you don’t believe me, record yourself each week same song. It’ll suprise you. Wish I could say it was my idea, but I learned it here a while ago.
Scott

Welcome to the Community, John. Many, many of us wish we’d started earlier and had JustinGuitar as our teacher, but such is life. Now you’ve started you can enjoy the adventure.

I’ve not learned from or used the App. So take this suggestion from whence it comes. Perhaps a good idea to also work through the Beginner Grade lessons on the website. I’ve no idea how aligned to the App the website modules and lessons are. Maybe somebody who has experience of both can chip in, one way or another.

You’re so very welcome here John. I love the way you’ve started out. Long may you continue :smiley:

Hello John and welcome. :slight_smile:

You’re in good company as I think there are many on here who wished they’d started years ago, me being one of them.