Jsgreen’s Learning Log

Copied from the old forum:

Before I dive in on my road case, I want to say THANK YOU to Justin and his co-workers who run this site, it’s fantastic and has been a joy to use.

I’m an adult-onset guitarist with regrets :grinning: Back in 1996 I bought a MIM Strat and over the next 25 years managed to only learn the first minor pentatonic scale position. I’ve kept that guitar, and for the past couple of decades I’ve harbored a feeling of self-disappointment for not having learned to play it. I love music, sincerely appreciate the talent of other musicians, but never made time for myself. In elementary school through mid-high school I played the flute; school bands and chamber orchestra, but I didn’t love it and eventually gave it up to focus on sports.

Enter the pandemic, and with it family losses (both my dad and father in law passed away) and professional stresses. In other areas of my life I have a “growth mindset,” that if I don’t know a skill I have the confidence to learn it. I realized I should apply this approach and address the “regret voice” in my head and decided to commit myself to learning guitar.

In December 2020 I found the Justin Guitar course and began my journey! I started JG lessons with the '96 Strat, bought some tools from StewMac so I could properly set it up (lots of YouTube videos helped), and in the spring realized I was hooked and treated myself to a mid life crisis Les Paul.

Today It’s early November 2021, I’m just over 10 months into my journey…I’m taking my time, approaching the end of Grade 2. I’ve found that I go on little side trips (blues licks, the vari-shuffle I recently posted on AVOYP) and then make my way back to the lessons. I try hard to make sure I learn something new or improve on a skill at each practice, which seems to be serving me well.

Current Gear: