Kate (lefty) from Canada

I am 18 months into this journey.
I started playing right handed, made it through the sore finger stage when I realized this was not the way I was meant to play guitar. All of my rhythm was in my left hand/arm. I noticed when I was driving and listening to music, I always joined in strumming my air guitar with my left hand. I also noticed keeping time with my right hand was challenging. So I started experimenting- flipping my guitar to the other side and just strumming muted strings. All of the strumming patterns I had learned to date were effortless. I knew then, I had to get a new guitar!
So after 5 months of learning right handed with the Fender App I discovered Justin’s Nitsuj videos. I rented a left handed guitar and started over with Nitsuj. What a fun time! Everything fell into place like it was meant to be. It’s been 1 year since I made the switch.
I play every day for at least an hour. I either do a lesson on Justin’s App or just play, sometimes both. Thank you Nitsuj for sharing the relearning phase with me.
My current song favourites to play are Hallelujah, House of the Rising Sun, Perfect (Ed Sheeran), You Send Me (Sam Cooke), Have you Ever Seen the Rain (CCR), Yellow Submarine and Norwegian Wood.

12 Likes

Welcome Kate and what an interesting story.

My brother is a left handed but he plays a right handed guitar upside down. This is not as uncommon as one might think.

I did build him a left handed electric guitar but strung right handed I think he prefers acoustics though.

What do you play?

Welcome to the forum Kate from another Canadian.

1 Like

Hey Katy, welcome to the forum. Glad you found the side that works for you. Look forward to hearing more from you

Acoustic

Hi Kate and welcome! Glad to have you here. Norwegian Wood is definitely on my list to learn at some point.

Hello Kate, Welcome to the community!!