Kraz's winding log, at length

This is a continuation of my Introduction thread, so if that interests you, see Hello from "Kraz" in SoCal - #12 by KrazGuitar. I wasn’t sure I’d make a learning log, but the support and feedback after introducing myself was so encouraging I decided to venture beyond my “Hello” bubble.

As mentioned in my first thread, I learned a handful of chords to play camp songs 30 years ago, but didn’t get serious about learning, so I’m a beginner with some out-of-practice muscle memory. For my 53rd birthday a couple weeks ago, I decided to give guitar another shot and bought a Fender Player Plus Stratocaster.

A few days before I got the guitar I started watching Grade 1, Module 1 because I knew Justin Guitar was a popular choice and I could see why. I’ve watched and played and practiced and re-watched and practiced more and am happy with my progress so far.

Old muscle memory has helped more than I expected it to, so most of the starting 8 chords have needed some dusting off, but haven’t been terribly hard. The hardest for me are Dm, which I didn’t learn before so there’s no helpful muscle memory, and A, because Justin teaches different fingering than I learned. I see the value of his suggested fingering so I’m determined to adopt it, but when trying to change to A without breaking tempo, my old fingers and new fingers hiss at each other like cats who just met.

I have watched all of Grade 1 now. I’m torn on whether to pause (and consolidate) or keep going. Except for Dm and chord changes involving A, I feel ready, and conceptually, I’m ready for new stuff.

I know songs are the goal, but at least in the early going, I find myself less motivated to practice songs than to practice exercises that build dexterity and muscle memory. I’ve probably spent more time doing the finger stretch exercise and basic chord changes than I have playing songs. I 100% get how that would be too tedious for some people, but I don’t mind it.