Learning Chet Atkins Fingerstyle?

I saw this Tommy Emmanuel video Tommy Emmanuel Teaches 4 Steps To Fingerstyle Guitar Technique | Reverb Learn To Play - YouTube and was wondering If its the best way to learn this style?
Trying to separate the thumb and fingers seems pretty hard. In addition to my regular playing and practicing, I’ve also been practicing with my thumb, just without a pick for now.
I’m not a real advanced guitar player, but I really like that Chet Atkins style, but I’m also wondering If its even possible to learn it too.

Hi Bruce, I’m a stage 2 beginner following Justin’s course methodically. In addition I’ve recently been slowly following Tommy Emmanuel’s Fingerstyle Course.

Yes, separating the thumb and fingers does look difficult but as with everything in life it just takes practice and patience.

If you like his style of playing then I see no harm in following both courses but you have to balance your practice time effectively.

For me Justin’s course is the predominant course and Tommy’s course is the supplementary course.

Therefore, Justin’s recommended practice routines for the modules I’m working on take precedence and my practice sessions only include one of Tommy’s exercises.

I find this approach ensures that I develop strong foundations from Justin’s beginners course whilst developing the specific fingerstyle techniques taught by Tommy.

Definitely keep your thumb parallel to strings as oppose to rest of the fingers. More thumb independence, less accidental string hits, less clashes with pointing finger and gives you plenty of flexibility if you want to play percussive elements in various songs :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Bruce, I concur with both @Socio and @adi_mrok replies.

I’ve not looked at TE’s course (or any others that focus specifically on finger-style), so can’t comment further on those.