Learning to play guitar with visual disability

Hi everyone, I’m a beginner guitar learner and I’ have low-vision.
It is difficult for me to see the chord diagrams/notes in front of me and also my finger position while playing the guitar.

Not many people face this issue and I’m unable to find any guidance online on how to overcome it

Will greatly appreciate it if someone could help out with some suggestions

Thank you

Jana

Hi Jana,

A quick search for audio description of chords fetched this site up:

It doesn’t seem to be very beginner friendly though as it’s just a big list of every chord listed alphabetically. They are on there though, the open chord positions seem to be listed first on each chord page and are described as position 1.

Here is the page for an A chord for example:

And the description for position 1 reads:

Position 1

Fingers Positions

• Mute the low E string
  • Let the A string play without pressing any fret
  • Let the high E string play without pressing any fret
  • Place your index finger (1) on the fret 2 of the D string
  • Place your middle finger (2) on the fret 2 of the G string
  • Place your ring finger (3) on the fret 2 of the B string

If this seems like it might be helpful I wouldn’t mind searching out a few of the common chords you’ll need to start off with and listing on a thread somewhere on here.

Having said that, Justin usually does describe (as well as show) the finger positions in his how to play a chord lessons.

5 Likes

Hi Jana,

I do not have vision problems, so my ideas here are not tested. I am hoping that you can find some use for these.

“Chord diagrams/notes” could be either learning the chord, or following a song you have not learned. Two ideas here:

1. For learning a chord, print a blank diagram very large and write it into the diagram yourself. You will be able to see it at a distance (like music stand or table) and writing it will help keep it memorable.