Learning to strum without a pick - should it be this hard?

Hi guys,

It’s been a long time since I was last here, hadn’t had much time and energy to practice and play guitar and was also kind of disappointed with myself that I didn’t play as much as I used to anymore.

So I started playing more regularly again and I started to explore strumming without a pick. It kind of started when I wanted to learn the song A team by Ed Sheeran and I also watched Justin’s tutorial on how to strum without a pick where he discusses a few methods. Also, I really want to master the song Let’s go home together by Ella Henderson & Tom Grennan and that also uses this strumming technique.

I always thought that strumming without a pick would be fairly easy but I find it really hard! And because I find it so hard I was wondering if you have similar experiences because if you don’t, I must be doing something wrong.

I mostly try strumming with my thumb and first finger, as if I’m holding a pick as Justin suggested. And while of course I can’t expect myself to sound like Ed or Justin, I also didn’t expect I would sound as shitty as I do. When I strum I often don’t hit all the strings, this happens on downstrums as well as up strums. Also I often get sort of ‘ stuck’ in the strings. I know Justin warned about this and I try to focus on what he suggests but it feels so terribly unnatural. Don’t know if this is relevant information but I keep my fingernails as short as I possibly can because I simply cannot function with long nails :wink:

Anyway, look forward to hearing your thoughts!

Inge

3 Likes

I guess you are catching your thumb?

Try using your 1st finger only and raking the nail across the strings for a down, and thumb only for up using the side of your thumb/nail.

Not using a pick is really fun but if you are pretending to hold a pick you have to be careful not to catch your finger/thumb in the string, not how I do it

1 Like

Welcome back Inge.