Lightbulb Moment, I Think

I was watching a video recently and the chords from ‘Knockin On Heaven’s Door’ popped into my head. Just the G, D, C progression.

I’ve only played full chords before, even when I played my live gig (mostly open and bar chords) and I have been reading theory on scales and chords, so I looked closer at triads and their inversions.

I started playing around with some chords, looking at the CAGED system to see where I could find triads and inversions for each position. The song I mentioned earlier kept coming into my head so, instead of the full chords for that progression I decided to use triads to play the progression…why waste a good song when I’m trying to study? :slight_smile:

The more I experimented the more excited I got and realised that a huge chunk of my actual practice was missing because I only focused on full chords (6,5 and 4 note chords). Using triads and inversions has suddenly opened up a huge chunk of the neck that I never really touched when playing rhythm. Plus it has given me more tonal varieties to play with.

I have no idea why I didn’t actually put into practice all the theory I’ve studied over the time I was previously learning guitar, but I know now that it was a huge mistake.

If you haven’t delved into triads and inversions before and are comfortable with full chords I highly recommend trying to use them sooner rather than later. :slight_smile:

18 Likes

I agree. Triads are great. Justin has some excellent videos on triads in his theory course. I’m currently working on the triads on strings 1, 2 & 3. Lots of fun.

2 Likes

You just opened up a very important window and let in a bunch of light and fresh air. Good on you! Full bar chords and six string open chords are over used, over rated, muddy sounding (at times) and somewhat limiting in a lot of cases. Triads open up a brave new world.

BONUS HINT: I like to play “Knockin” in the key of D in drop D tuning:
Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door