Looper with different tones

I am a beginner and bought a Boss Katana 50 as something I can grow into without constantly buying new gear.
Now I’m looking to get my first looper that is easy to use.

Am I able to buy a looper that let’s me use one tone to loop, then solo with a different tone?

Thanks

Hi David, I just put my tone pedals before the looper.

One tone for the rhythm, get it going then switch to the lead tone (which for me normally just involves stomping on the overdrive), the lead tone should just pass straight through the looper or record over the top of the original as desired.

…although I guess if most of your tone shaping is done in your amp/software this won’t be very helpful….

If you are using your effects on the amp to differentiate between rhythm and lead tones then unfortunately you’re not going to be able to do that on the Katana 50. If you have pedals or a mfx that you are running into your katana then you would just put your looper between the two and then change your tone between the two using your pedals/mfx.

If you just want to use an amp with it’s built in fx then it needs to have a FX loop so that you can plug your looper into that. That would allow you to then have different “tones” for the Rhythm loop and lead parts.

There are a lot of threads in the forum covering this so maybe worth doing a search.

2 Likes

This is why I didn’t buy a cheap Katana 50 when I had the chance. I’ll get the 100 instead when I can, because that one does have an FX loop. Perhaps if it’s new OP, you could return it and pay the extra to get the 100?

Thanks for all the comments.
I’ll start with a basic looper and play over it with the same tone. Once I prove to myself that I could get the hang of it then I suppose I could get a couple of pedals mess around with different solo tones.
Narrowed it down to
TC plus
TC x2
Boss rc-5

1 Like

David,