Mac's learning log

Hi !
I’m Mac , a woman , 41 french and disabled ( clusterheadaches and consequences of a head trauma )

Since i m afraid of losing motivation in my guitar journey , I’ll use this space as a diary !
It will not be fascinating to read but it will help me to play and exercise as often as I can

My goals : Playing at least 4 days a week, 20 to 30 minutes each day, for more than 6 months

I started playing guitar one year ago on a app called Yousician but when i became overwhelmed with work around june I stopped playing,.
So this time I ll try to stick to my training schedule for a year

I own a Squier Affinity Strat FM10G BS

and a Epiphone Acoustic electric AJ 220SCE

My amp is a little fender frontman , its good enough for a beginner

Day 1 :

I started the beginner grade 1 on the justin app and finished it
Since i already played before i already knew most of the stuff but i wanted to start from scratch
Nevertheless i will work the grade 1 songs again !
The lessons are awesome BUT I’ve been disappointed with the way the app works
The songs start way too quickly !
you don t have enought time to get in position again especially for a beginner …
So you panic , miss the firsts notes , and fail the follow the rythm at the beginning of the song
It would be great to add some more time before the song starts just enough to get into position to play
The other disappointing thing is : the app does not hear the sound correctly … you spend more time trying to make the damn thing hear the sound than doing the exercise correctly

So after the first day , i feel like the app is a great addition to help learning ( changing the tempo , having no one singing on the tune etc ) but i really need it to hear the sound when i play
Its impossible to do the perfect chord exercise if it does not hear the chord

16 Likes

That’s a good first goal. Enjoy your new journey :slight_smile:

1 Like

Day 2 :
Did the daily routine for 10 minutes