Major and relative minor pentatonic scales differences

I’m just starting to learn the major and minor pentatonic scales and have a question regarding the relationship between the major and minor. I understand that Am is the relative minor to the C major pentatonic scale. So what differentiates the Am from the C? I’ve heard that it’s the tonic note, if the tonic is A then it’s the Am pentatonic scale, if it’s the C, then it’s the C major pentatonic scale. What exactly does that mean?

If I start on a specific note on the 6th string and play the correct pattern, am I playing the C or Am scale? How does the concept of a tonic note come into play? Does it only come into play once you start to improvise, and if so, how?

If someone is playing a 12 bar blues pattern is C, can I play either the C or Am pentatonic scale over it? It’s all the same notes. I’m sure I’m missing something here, I just don’t know what it is.

If you are playing a 12 bar blue in C the best scale to sound bluesy would be the C minor pentatonic. The whole blues sound revolves around the 3rd and flat3 tention.

But that does answer your question.
The tonic or tonal center is how your ear perceives how the notes sound together. I have to go to work so when I get there I’ll explain it better.

Hi Todd, a very warm welcome to the Community.
I’m wondering what learning path you have taken to reach the point where you are learning both simultaneously.
Have you learned from JustinGuitar and followed along the path of his beginners courses?
If yes, you will have been introduced to the minor pentatonic scale early on, plus one pattern of a major sclae too. But the major pentatonic comes much later.

Justin’s advice, emphasised, is that you should learn only one scale, and only one pattern of that scale, at a time.
He even made a video stressing how important he thinks this disciplined approach is.