March 2023 (#2 added 5th) (What’s So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding (Elvis Costello), Gold (Handsome Family)

I am still a beginner in grade 2 but about to bounce into grade 3 soon. This song is named Gold, and is by the Handsome Family. There are no curse words but a mention of the main character being shot in case that is upsetting for some.

Sorry it took a while. We had some wild weather here in North Texas this week. Had to replace some boards on the old fence!

I am currently working on my F chord and this song uses it pretty prominantly so this one seemed to be a good one to appropriately challenge me.

I have only been at this one for a week or so and really wanted to learn it better but I was told to show my warts, so here they are. :laughing: I am so nervous when I know I am being recorded that I make more mistakes but feel it is important to force myself to face that more. Good practice for the campfire.

#2 March 2023 (#2 added 5th) (What’s So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding (Elvis Costello), Gold (Handsome Family) - #4 by Rqualls

7 Likes

Great work.
I will say, singing with your playing is the best thing to do, as this develops your own style, especially the “right hand” strums and percussive styles (so many, and this is where the soul and the spirit of the song comes from.
Excellent playing, and love this recording.
Rene

1 Like

Thank you for the kind words and encouragement! I am really enjoying the journey.

I really love this song. This writer has a knack for making ugly things seem incredibly beautiful.

(What’s So Funny 'bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding - Elvis Costello

A local Dallas blues band covered this and slowed this down and redid it recently and I really liked it. It reminded me of how much I also loved the original (well, actually, it is also a cover of a song that Elvis Costello sped up) and what a great message it gives right now.