March 2024 Covers - Grateful Dead Loser and Standing on the Moon

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted a video, but recent conversations in the community inspired me to dig out my microphone to record my acoustic this morning. It sounded good enough that I thought I would share with you all.

This is my first time sharing a video with singing. I kept the strumming very simple partly because that is where my skill is at and also because when I try to do more strumming, I tend to drown out my vocals.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Anyway, this is one of my favorite songs from my favorite band.

19 Likes

Rob

Excellent version of a song I didn’t know. Good accompaniment and strong singing make yours’ a great performance. Your style reminded me a litle of some REM.

Is your guitar a Martin, and if yes which model? I have a Suzuki Kiso from the 70s that was a Martin clone - led to all sorts of lawsuits over breach of patent. When I think about upgrading to a cutaway electro acoustic Martin is one of the makes I look at.

Brian

1 Like

Loved it!!!
What a great song! Dont know anything about the Greatful deads :flushed:
But rhis sounded awsome!

Thanks for shearing.

1 Like

Thanks Brian!

My guitar is a Martin OOO28. When I was first looking at acoustics I was looking at the Martin GPC16e or GPC13e - both cutaways with built in electronics. I ended up splurging on mine because I am generally of the buy it once mentality and wanted something that I can have for the next 30 years. I do love my guitar but every once in a while I wish it had electronics.

One similarity between my guitar and the Martin GPCs is body depth, they are all about shallower and a bit smaller than Dreadnought guitars which make them a little quieter, a little more comfortable and definitely more couch friendly.