Master vs Volume! Cannot understand the difference

Hey people! I’m an acoustic guitar player and just started using an electric guitar, so I’m a complete beginner in that regard.

I’m trying to find a basis/foundation in terms of tone and get on from there, but I find all the knobs and internet info overwhelming to the point that my head hurts and I just go back to my acoustic guitar.

I bought a Boss Katana MKII 50 (already watched a bit of Justin’s video - I have unanswered questions, maybe I was tired, maybe it was my 3rd 4th video in a row, I don’t remember)

I understand the gain, bass, mid and tremble knobs, because they are obvious.

I DON’T understand the volume and master controls. In my head I’m thinking that I have two volume controls. Three if you add the volume knob on my guitar. Why do I have 3 volume knobs? What’s the difference? What’s the use?

Cheers!

2 Likes

On your amp the first volume (next to gain) is the pre amp part of the amp and the master is the power amp side which controls the overall volume.
The best way to use it is to put the master volume on fairly high and control the overall volume using the volume - it usually gives a nicer tone, if it’s too loud change the Power setting to a lower wattage.
You have a volume control on your guitar so that you can change the output of your guitar; lower volume on the guitar will yield a cleaner sound, increase the volume on your guitar will give distortion for the same amp setting.

3 Likes
4 Likes

This is my understanding of what the difference is. I assume that all modeling amps work the same(katana, fender, Spark, ect).

Use the volume and gain settings to control the amount clean vs distortion in your sound. Once you have a level of distortion that you like, use the master to control the loudness.