Metronome vs drum machine for beginners

I’m a beginner (just finished grade 2 of the beginner’s course) and I’m trying to improve my ability to keep time and make my strumming sound good. Any thoughts on whether there are any advantages or disadvantages to using a drum machine vs a metronome?

I find it more fun to play along with the drum machine, especially when I get it right and I can hear I’m hitting the beats right, but not sure if this is less helpful because its easier than with the metronome where every beat sounds the same?

2 Likes

It’s very personal. What works for one may not work for the other. I struggled with a metronome when I was learning, it took me a few attempts over a period of months before I could get the hang of it.

I now also have a drum machine, the Boss DRS01 which I love. At times I prefer the metronome over the drum machine, other times I prefer the drum machine.

The great thing is that as a beginner you are paying attention to your tempo. It makes such a difference learning to play along to the metronome / drum machine / click track.

3 Likes

Whatever floats your boat really, though I use both for different things.

If I’m practising scales, hammer-ons, flick-offs, etc then I usually use a metronome. I use Justin’s tip of setting it’s volume to a bit less than my guitar, so that if I nail the timing then the note covers the click completely.

If I’m doing pretty much anything else like solos or songs then I use a drum machine. I find drums easier to hear than a click, it compliments what I’m playing instead of ruining it, and I just find it a lot more fun.

2 Likes

The only disadvantage to using a drum machine that I can think of is that it possibly doesn’t develop your skill at playing with a metronome.

I think it’s good to use a metronome occasionally so that you get the feel of playing along to one.

There may be times when playing with a metronome is useful, such as Justin’s Time Trainer app.