Moving forward from Grade -01 module 01

Hi ,

I started the program a week ago and have been practicing every day. I’ve never played guitar before, so this is my first time learning. After the first week, I can remember the A & D chord shapes, and I can perform chord changes 30+ times between A & D. However, the issue is that I cannot strum these chords with the pick. It sounds horrible even though I correctly place my fingers because I am either hitting the wrong strings or strumming at awkward angles. If I strum with my thumb, I can get the chords sounding perfect most of the time with 30+ per minute. I hope someone can offer some advice on how to improve strumming with a pick, or should I move on to module 2?

2 Likes

Hi Prashan, welcome to the Community here and congratulations on completing your first week on an awesome journey, it sounds like you’ve done well with your first couple of chords and changes.

To your question, I’d suggest focussing first on more the chord perfect exercises than getting the change numbers up when using the pick. At this stage definitely don’t be massively concerned with hitting some wrong strings, it’ll definitely come with time so stick with it using the pick. I see no harm in moving on, you’ll still be doing plenty more practice with A and D through grade 1, they’re not done yet! :wink:

Most of all keep having fun, you’re doing a terrific thing, all the best. Keep us posted on how you’re doing and don’t hesitate to ask for any advice here, you’ll get all the support you’ll want, if you want!
:heart::guitar:

2 Likes

Hey! First of all congratulations on starting! You won’t regret it.