Multi-effects pedals - any advice/experiences good or bad

I’m fairly new to the whole pedal board thing but know that I’m unlikely to want to do any gigs or anything like that. I am thinking however of getting some pedals for myself as getting my guitar to sound right is quite important. The question is should I look at some of the multi-effects units or start a collection of pedals. Anyone with any ideas of which ones to go for without busting the bank account?

1 Like

I’ve been a long-time fan of tube amps + pedal board (and that remains my preferred way to play electric guitar), but I recently bought a Boss GT-1000 Core multi-effects unit and have been happy with it so far.

I think digital modelling has come a long, long way as far as the actual sound goes, but my main complaint has been that the digital models don’t have the same feel and response that I expect and desire. However, Boss seems to be making some progress in that area. The tech in the Katana amps is pretty good in this area (I’ve owned several modeling amps, but the Katana is the only one I’ve kept), and I have to say that the GT-1000 Core handles the “feel/response” thing even better than the Katana.

As for multi-effects vs individual pedals, there’s no reason it has to be an either/or. You can do both: most good multi-effects devices have an effects loop and ways to integrate other pedals. My advice is to start with a multi-effects unit. You can explore a lot of different effects and tones at reasonable volumes, and you can always add individual pedals later.