Nadim from Barcelona

I’ve been a (mostly silent) member of this community for 2 years. Recently became more engaged after becoming a Blimmer. So I guess that it’s time for me to properly introduce myself.

I’ve been playing guitar for about 15 years on and off. My sister had bought me a nylon-string guitar for my birthday, with a 5-lessons voucher. I’ve never talked or thought about wanting to buy a guitar back then. I don’t know how she came up with the gift idea. But I fell in love with the guitar immediately. I took the 5 1-on-1 lessons and then continued following Youtube video tutorials from a really awesome guy and his assistant, the jedi master :smiley:. So you can imagine the memories that the video Justin made recently looking back to all these years brought to me.

One interesting thing is that my taste changed many times since I started playing. But I guess that’s normal. I’ve played a lot of Bob Dylan early on. But today I am not really into playing it (although I do listen to his music). One band that I never (nor I ever will, probably) stopped playing is the Beatles. Learned some classic crowd pleases once I got an acoustic guitar, then a few rock riffs when I bought my Epiphone Les Paul, but never seemed to learn complete songs. Just riffs. Eventually, this doesn’t last.

I’ve bought and sold a decent amount of gear along the years. I had a Fender Frontman amp when I started, then added a Vox Tonelab multi-effect pedal, got myself a distortion pedal, looper, you know how this goes…

I’m minimalistic (well, you kind of have to be when you live in Barcelona with its small apartments), so I always tired not to own too many things. Even when getting a new pedal or amp, I’d sell something else.