Nancy Sinatra - Bang Bang / recording & playing advice welcome!

Hello guitar folks!

I’m a newbie what comes to recording audio/video and wanted to give it a try with this Nancy Sinatra - Bang Bang cover:

I have posted one song earlier (my first AVOYP - G major impro) which I did with my mobile phone. Now I have finally managed to upgrade my ‘home studio’, with the intention to motivate myself to post more AVOYP -videos (nice way of spending money too) :smiley:

I’m not sure if I’m doing the recording the most optimal way, hence would be great to receive some recording tips and feedback on how this recording sounds. Feedback on my playing is ofc also warmly welcome, as I want to become a better player.

Equipment used:

• Mic - Shure SM57-LCE (about 15cm from amp)
  • Focusrite Scarlett Solo
  • Positive Grid - Spark amp (with tremolo effect plugin)
  • Web cam - Razer Kiyo Pro (HD I think)
  • OBS Studio for recording audio and video simultaneously (PC)
  • Bose quiet comfort headphones - for listening to the song on Youtube to stay in time - obviously without noise cancel engaged.

Regarding the recording sound, I find the sound a bit muddy, but that is mostly because of Spark amp. Also, I added a ‘gain filter’ to the mic input in OBS Studio to boost the sound level a bit - otherwise the sound would have been too weak - not sure if this is the best way to do it:

I also adjusted the gain knob on my Scarlett - Solo so that it doesn’t turn red to avoid clipping. Anyone familiar with OBS Studio, is there a way to tweak the sound less muddy?

The headphones that I used are not very good as they are closed ones, and I had to wear them ‘half-way’ on my ears to be able to hear myself playing from the Spark amp. Wondering if open or semi-open headphones would be a good investment for listening to the original track to stay in time when recording covers?