New old guy - Bob - from mid-Missouri

I recently discovered Justin Guitar and have started the courses. I’m not a beginner, but I play like one. I’ve owned guitars and have messed around with them for several decades now (I’m 62). I’ve been a huge music fan my whole life and have always been interested in guitar. About 20-25 years ago, I decided I wanted to teach myself guitar. I bought a few books and tapes and tried to teach myself some basics (without much luck). About that time, my wife was active with a church. The musicians took pity on me and let me sit in with them during practice. Before long, I joined the church and began playing with the band regularly. When I say “playing,” I mean three chords, strictly rhythm. Basically just strumming. But I did it a lot and was playing nearly every day. Still, I never progressed much beyond a few chords at a time. Also, a big problem was that the only songs I learned were the church’s original music. I never learned any songs that anyone else would know or recognize. Time went on, the church fell apart and I lost my playing buddies. I set the guitar aside and hardly touched it at all for a number of years.