Newbie wants to learn 70’s & 80s rock

Hello,

1st let me say Justin your vids/instruction are awesome. I can’t emphasize that enough. Thank you.

Total newbie & I’m rapidly closing in on 63 yrs of age. Just now I’m watching your “S.M.A.R.T Guitar Goals” video….

I know exactly what my goal is —>

I want to be able to play along with 70s/80s rock that I grew up with. Led Zep/Lynrd Skynrd/Stones…etc. Playing both lead & rhythm.

I want to be able to do this in the comfort of my home theater.

AND I’d like to pursue this training with as few as possible detours.

How do I go about this?

Thanks

Bryan

4 Likes

By using your home theater?

1st you’ll need a guitar , Les Paul, Strat , telecaster etc pretty much any will do.

You’ll need either an amp or some software that pretends to be one, and some cables/interfaces to link that up.

What exactly depends on how you want it to work and what you have already. A modeling amp with a line out would be a good start ( katana, fender gtx etc).

Then its a case of dialing in the right sound and learning the bits.

I’d work though Justins grade 1 basics before going much , and perhaps some of grade 2

Most of the riffs from Zep 1 are fun and not too hard

Thanks Rob. I’m on track with your suggestions. On 3 now. :+1:t2:

Definitely trying to figure out the gear I’ll need but I’m clueless with this. I’d like to pipe everything thru my home theater if that’s even feasible. Please understand I’m going out on a limb here and exposing my ignorance on the gear side of things.

Thanks for your quick response.

ok what do you have now, in terms of guitar stuff and HT (amp, PC?) stuff

and what kind of budget are you looking at for sorting it out

Strat and a Fender LT25. No limit on the upside of the budget but my wife would def disagree. So, let’s say $10K.