Nobody knows you when you’re down and out

I got to admit that I never thought I’d upload of video of me playing, but here goes.

I started playing around 6 years ago. I missed a year of playing, year 3, due to an elbow injury and surgery.

I play for my own enjoyment and upon occasion with two friends. I guess I have progressed some, but I always knew feedback is necessary and that this is a good site for that. For some reason, today I decided to upload.

All feedback welcomed

Thanks.

9 Likes

That was superb Mitch. Your playing is really smooth and relaxed and your voice really suited that song. I enjoyed that a lot!

1 Like

You throw in some interesting passing notes I don’t play myself while I do others so it’s very cool to hear what you made of his.

Thanks for sharing.
Excellent flow, clear notes and chords and personal decorations I’m very fond of.
You clearly are skilled to decorate this version even more and make this a full song.
A bit more attention to the vocals and vocal technique and you’re jamming open mic nights just as well.

What kind of guitar is that…it sounds warm and balanced.

Thanks Both for your kind words.

The arrange meant and walk ups I think I learned from a Marty Schwartz video. For me it was an aspirational song, that I came back to and I can finally keep up.

Could you expand upon “a bit more attention to the vocals and vocal techniques.”
(All I know is what I learned in “How not to suck at singing” video. So I’ve got a long way to go… :wink:

The guitar is a Martin D-28 clone I built before I even started learning to play it. I got the plans and most of the parts from StewMac. These days, there’s also plenty of good quality resources on the net for builders.

Like a D-28 it has rosewood back and sides and a spruce top. Wood type and body size define a lot of the tone.

A tasty bit of playing there Mitch and congratulations on your first AVOYP posting.

I really enjoyed the song, even if it was a little short. :stuck_out_tongue: