Numb nibs

Hey there. I’m only a month in so knowledge is sparse. What I’m hoping to find out though……from developing the necessary finger tip calluses, particularly my first finger, It’s almost like it’s become numb to the touch so I’m not really identifying the strings that it should be landing on. Is that just part of the natural ‘progression’, something that I’ll become used to?

Thank you

Cate

2 Likes

Hi Cate, @CateB ,
You will need to go through his phase.
Very important that you do not back out, because of “soreness”.
This is the way to callous formation, and the acquisition of natural ease of finger comfort.
The finger soreness is always going to be part of guitar playing, especially is one is playing for a long time, like for 30 minutes to an hour.
I have been playing guitar for over 50 years now, and my fingers are still feeling sore at the end of a playing session. But I can play now for over an hour, and my pain level is manageable, still there!
Keep up the work!!!

1 Like

Hi Rene, thank you for replying. My problem is that I actually don’t have the pain. Well not the OMG, can’t do this pain I initially had. I got through that after the first week or so and now have very calloused fingers. It’s more so that I don’t have the full sensation anymore which is why I’m not sensing the strings and if it’s the right string that I should be playing. I was hoping that’s also a phase your fingers go through.

I do play it much longer than 30 mins a day. Many/most days I’m playing (practicing) a few hours each day. Could it be that I’m overdoing it, considering I’m a complete newbie to this?

1 Like

Well, this is quite different from what I got on the earlier post.
On this matter, if you have a lot of callous, then the string sensation would be lessened, by natural physical sense.
When I stated playing the guitar for 30 minutes or 1 hour, I meant, in one sitting.
And I might be playing guitar for 3 hours in a day, about 30 minutes to an hour per sitting.