Ocho Kandelikas (first AVOYP)

…in which I play Ocho Kandelikas. I started studying guitar with JustinGuitar two months ago (I played just a little in the very distant past), and this was my first time being recorded. I knew I could only do one take and I was very nervous. I can point out tons of faults in the performance, but it nevertheless fills me with joy that I can now make music for myself and others with the guitar. I was frustrated that I had so much difficulty with this “simple” song, but I have to acknowledge several hurdles it presented.

First, I only very recently first tried singing while playing guitar (and the song is not in my native language). While practicing previously, I kept forgetting the words, so that’s one more thing I needed to think about while playing.

Second, I took the simple 2-chord sequence and made it more complicated by switching to fingerstyle for the refrain. When I had started to practice fingerstyle before, I found it surprisingly difficult. Switching in and out of it proved to be even more difficult since I needed to repeatedly establish my anchor position and find the strings on the fly. I also couldn’t find a bass note pattern that sounded good and tried to do a partial strum with the thumb instead–something I had never tried before learning this song.

And third, I have been doing my lessons and practice on an electric guitar with a drastically different shape, size, and feel. I only very recently started trying to transfer skills to the acoustic guitar and it still feels awkward. Time for more practice!

6 Likes

Hey! Welcome to the community and that was awesome! You played well and have me beat by a mile with the singing. Great effort!

1 Like

Nice Geoffrey :+1:

1 Like

Good start with AVOYP Geoffrey!

1 Like

Hi and welcome,
It is up to you what you want to do. But nothing says you “have” to do a one off recording in 1 take.