Old Dog Tricks - hello from Lou G

Hey everyone, Lou G here, I started playing guitar in '70 at the age of 13, got to a fairly proficient level, enough to support my singing which I really love to do and played in a few bands, coffee shops and bars and finally wound up leading Worship after finding Jesus in '87 - mostly play acoustic but have dabbled with electrics for a long time. Have always considered myself to be a “longtime beginner” got to a level of playing and stopped progressing. Have finally decided I want to learn how to become a lead guitar player and am embarking on this journey with Justin. I am starting at Grade 1 and working from there.

8 Likes

Welcome to the forum Lou

Welcome! Starting at Grade 1 and taking your time is great to make sure that you aren’t missing anything. You will probably hang out for a few things and zoom through others.

1 Like

Hi Lou, and welcome! I think you will find quite a few of us “old dogs” around here. Wise choice to go through the beginner lessons even though you’re experienced. Justin has a way of pointing out things in a way that even non-beginners learn new stuff. Just today, I heard a well-known professional player say he’s still learning from Justin’s videos. I think that says a lot about his courses!

Yep, I knew about the two finger G chord but the Dm with the pinkie on the second string was a revelation- still having trouble using the pinkie after playing it for 50+ years the other way!! Never had a lesson, learned by ear and watching/playing with other guys - figured I better start with a sound foundation….

3 Likes

Welcome, Lou. It’s a great place to learn and have fun.

Welcome Lou, dive right in, there is a huge amount here and a friendly helpful crowd too :ok_hand:

Hi Lou

Welcome to the forum from another longtime beginner :smiley: