Older Beginner Fret Board Issues - I can't land my fingers on a chord at the same time

HI Everyone
I’m 65yo and been I’ve been learning on-line with Justin for about 12 months but regularly practicing for 6 months.
I have always wanted to learn guitar but now am determined to follow through and be able to play all those 60’s and 70’s classics.
However I find I am still putting 1 finger down on the fret board, then the other and then the last one, especially when playing G chord or C chord.
Will I ever be able to just put all three (or fingers) down on the fret board at the same time like Justin?

2 Likes

Hi Bruce
Don’t fret :joy:, I’m 57 and what I would call a returning guitarist. I would say just keep the faith and if you practice regularly it will eventually happen. For me the secret is two fold, first knowing what your target chord is secondly a mental image of the shape.
Practice the chord perfect and 1minute changes. Hope this helps.

3 Likes

Short answer would be ‘yes’.

Were you able to place all fingers simultaneously for the D A and E chords on day 1 of learning the chord. Probably not. And now I am thinking that you can since you don’t mention those chords.

C & G can be quite a stretch, more challenging hence coming later in the process. So be patient, keep doing the practice exercises, and you will get there.

2 Likes

Hi Bruce,

With practice it will eventually happen. What has helped me with a couple of tricky chords is to practice slowly going from one chord to the other chord forming the chord shape with fingers hovering above and once the fingers are in the right place landing them. Wash, rinse and repeat… the muscle memory kicked in and the fingers knew buy themselves the chord shapes to form in the air when going to those tricky chords.

1 Like