PapaG's Long & Winding Road

Hi Everyone,

So here’s my backstory

I started playing as a teen, never got better than a substandard level of mediocrity, and 50 years later as a grown adult would have thought that the notion of ever playing guitar at any level again dead. Then one day I crossed paths with a sorry looking old stray dog in the form of a black Dean starter strat sitting on the shelf of a Goodwill store. Well, looking up at me with those puppy-dog eyes sparked something inside. Twenty bucks + tx , out-the-door, gig bag included. Sold.
Man, that turned out to be one sweet little guitar after it was nurtured back to health.

That was June, 2019, and I remember it well because it was within a day or two of my 67th birthday.
Between then and the date of this writing (roughly 3 1/2 years), perhaps 2-3 dozen or so different guitars and amps have passed through my hands. Some are of notable mention, like a Fender Princeton and a '95 Fender MIJ TB FotoFlame Strat - and still I remember that Dean. Ahh, first love…

I’ve been a member here for a couple of years, I think. Honestly, I don’t know where I’d be without this site - it is one of the most remarkable resources I’ve ever come across. I’ve completed a number of courses, but I’m currently studying Theory, Folk-Finger style, a number of songs, including Justin’s sublime arrangement of ‘Desperado’. I suppose there are some things you never stop learning - I’m counting on that part. I’d like to engage more socially here because there are some truly terrific folks that share my love of music and guitars. I’m retired and play from morning till night whenever I can, and the wife has been told to bury me with my favorite guitar cradled in my arms.

My musical tastes are wide - it’s probably easier to say what I don’t like. My playing choices are the same. I started with electric; mostly Blues lead solos, but having just got a 25th anniversary Taylor, I’m now more appreciative of acoustic.