Please tell me I'm normal

Hereā€™s the thing. Iā€™ve had my guitar now for about a year. I started learning with Justinā€™s course at the beginning of January. Iā€™ve never been apart from my guitar for more than five days. So, being the addict that I apparently became when it comes to my instrument, Iā€™ll bring her home for the holidays. My parents are okay with it and probably hoping to listen to what I play (Iā€™m not at all nervous, no. And yes, thatā€™s a blatant lie).

Anyways. During Christmas, my sister, her husband and my niece will be there for a day as well. My sister asked on the phone yesterday, if Iā€™ll bring my guitar. I said yes and then she asked if my niece would be allowed to ā€œtry it outā€.

My niece is 6, sheā€™s a very careful child if you tell her to be and I love her to bits and Iā€™d love nothing more than for her to be interested in learning guitar herself.

But thatā€™sā€¦ wellā€¦ my guitar.

I already had half an anxiety attack when the experts from the store changed the guitarā€™s strings. I call her ā€œherā€ (and by her name) even though grammatically correct would be ā€œitā€ (even in my mother tongue). Iā€™m currently a bit panicky because the air in my flat is way too dry (22%!).

Anyways. Yes, of course Iā€™ll let her hold my guitar and maybe trying to play a note or two. But please tell me Iā€™m not the only one that is feeling that protective about their instrument. Because if I wouldnā€™t love my niece as much as I do, Iā€™d probably say no.

Do you have similar stories? Iā€™d love to hear them, because Iā€™m a little bit worried Iā€™m going crazy. :smiley:

Thanks a lot!

3 Likes

I think it depends on the instrumentā€¦ when itā€™s your first or a special gift itā€™s normal to feel strongly about it.