Richard 42 from Kent UK

Hi all,
Pleased to meet you all! I’m new to this whole journey. Had a few lessons at school 30 years a go but lost interest. I wanted to learn and play a cool electric guitar but when my father bought me an acoustic because “it sounds better” I lost all enthusiasm. A choice I have regretted for years!
I have remedied the guitar issue now though… I still have my old accoustic but I now have my red strat that I always wanted, and to my wife’s dismay 2 les Paul’s. Whoop
So this January I decided to start my journey again. It is fun but so frustrating when you don’t pick up as quickly as you once could! I have the app and have been working through that and moved on modules as I have got to the points suggested but think I may have advanced through them a little quickly. I have started level 3 but feeling a little out of my depth…. Barre chords are a bit of a struggle too.
We will get there. I know I am just wanting to much to quickly. I try to get at least 30 mins a night but I had 4 months where I couldn’t do any and it set me back!

7 Likes

Hi Richard and welcome to the Community!

Go at your own pace, even back track or stick on a certain module / lesson a little longer to feel happy before trucking on again.

You’ll get amazing support here and most of all have fun!

3 Likes

Hi Richard. A warm welcome to the community. Yes, eight months to go through to Grade 3 seems a bit fast but everyone picks it up and struggles with things differently.

No harm in taking a pause, going back through the lessons, identifying what you need to work on, consolidating those aspects before progressing further.

Wish you all the beat with your guitar adventure.

3 Likes

Hi Richard and welcome to the Community! Don’t be in a hurry, enjoy your journey, the time you spend with your guitar every-single-day…well being is key when learning something new! Go as much slow as to be able to say: “oh! I did great today!” See you around :blush:

4 Likes