Scared bending my electric guitar!

OK all my life I played classical guitar, Recently got an electric guitar and am trying to bend but it seems to me the action is high , I will take my time and wait for a few weeks before I take to to store for action adjustment but right now I wonder in this high action is it safe to bend the string or not?
I have to push it very hard and I am new in bending strings :slight_smile:
So when the action is high will pushing hard to reach my bending goal harm the guitar?

Can’t assure you, but in any case, before damaging your guitar I guess the strings will break.

I don’t think that the action will affect bending in that way, though. Since is the string tension that you have to fight, and that’s not modified by the action. I think. What I expect that the action will affect is how comfortable is your bending on your fingers.

Bend away. You won’t damage the guitar.

3 Likes

Worst thing that’s going to happen is that you will shred your newly grown callouses!

3 Likes

What gauge strings? That makes a big difference bending. Also, bending is hard at the beginning. It takes a lot of effort.

• Light gauge: .010 .013 .017 .026 .036 .046

10s are fine. As @RobDickinson says “bend away”, concentrating on the right technique. May take a little while to feel natural.

Cheers, Shane

Have you checked out Justin’s lessons on bending technique ? If your technique is not quite right it could give you the impression that the action is high. You are more likely to damage your fingers than the guitar, strings slipping over the fingers that kind of thing. So as Shane says, as long as you are focusing on the technique if you are new to it, all should be ok.
I have an ancient Affinity who’s action is higher than most of my other electrics and still bends well if done the right way.

Have fun (buy plasters just in case :wink: )

:sunglasses:

1 Like