Scorpions - Wind of Change (chords, old recordings)

This was the best try of my very ever first recordings, which I made on 2019-12-03, playing along with chordify. Sorry about the low volume, but back then I was used to play unplugged:

I had started my guitar journey on 2019-08-29, so I had started playing over 3 months before… but during that time I had a pair of holidays (3 weeks) apart from the guitar, so my real playing time was more like two months and a half. As the complete novice I was, I was constantly switching my view between looking at the fretboard to form the chords correctly, and looking at the screen to see which chords would follow. It’s a miracle I didn’t end up with neck pain.

After I finished the classic beginner course I started working on the intermediate one, and on other songs, and after nearly a year of not playing the song, I got that old video from 2019, edited it adding and syncing the chordify animation that I was looking at while I played, and also started working in the song again. And after many failed recordings, there was one in June 2021 which I didn’t delete, and here it is:

I think the evolution is quite clear:

• This time I did memorize the song, so I didn’t need to look at the screen anymore (also, it’s the longer audio version, not the cutted one for video)
  • I still took some peeks at the fretboard, but I didn’t need to do it constantly as before.
  • I also decided to sing, which I know I’m not very good at (and neither too interested), but I do believe it’s a good exercise that forces you to “automate” your playing so you can free a part of your mind to pay attention to the lyrics.
  • I also did the whistles, and even dared to whistle the main solo.
10 Likes

Digging through the history books… how’s your playing now, 2 years on?

2 Likes

:point_up_2: agree, would love to see this too. You made great strides from the first vid :+1: