Shaun from Indiana

Hello everyone. I’m a 42-year-old beginner and I’m excited to be here! I’m into metal; I listen to mostly death metal, but I’m all over the place and like many genres of metal and rock.

I played drums in a metal band back in the '90s. I was never particularly passionate about them. I mostly chose to play drums because I was the only one in the friend group that had a set (my grandma let me use hers) and was willing to learn and play. Needless to say, I didn’t stick with the discipline.

I’ve always wanted to play guitar. My grandfather gave me his guitar when I was 16. He taught me a few chords and I sold it for drugs. Kids are stupid.

Fast forward to now. I recently woke up one morning and thought about my grandfather and his guitar. I felt sadness and regret about selling the guitar and never following my passions.

This got me thinking about learning to play but I was uncertain. I felt too old. I felt like it was too late to get good enough to play the technical death metal that I love to listen to. I was talking to a friend about my concerns and he looked at me and said, “Yeah, you’re probably too old to ever be good enough to play that kind of metal.” And something about the way they said it lit a fire under my butt. I just looked over and said, “watch me.”

I bought a PRS 245 SE and a Katana Mk II the very next day.

I’m glad I found this community and I hope to learn and grow with all of you.

4 Likes

You’ll never be younger again than you are today. I started playing guitar at the age of 53 and 10 years later I can’t rave enough about the pleasure it’s given me. Go for it.

Hey Shaun, welcome! Spite is a great motivator isn’t it? :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Seems like you have a clear goal so just go for it, there’s absolutely no reason you shouldn’t be able to achieve it given enough focused practice and determination. Do the beginners course to get a basic foundation and go on down your chosen path would be my advice.