Small, cheap guitar

I currently have a full size fender acoustic and an Ibanez electric guitar. Clearly I need more guitars :wink: so……
Actually I would really like something small to keep upstairs in my house, I spend quite a bit of time waiting around for piano students and would probably get another couple of hours a week in if I could get a little guitar for upstairs.

I have a few questions really:

Would practicing on a 3/4 guitar actually help playing a full size one?
I can get quite an achey left arm if I practice too much would a smaller guitar help?
Any cheapish suggestions for something suitable (under £200)

Thanks in advance.
Liz

2 Likes

What sized Fender Acoustic do you own? I have a concert sized CC-60S that, while full sized, feels much better to play than a dreadnought. I have no experience playing smaller scaled guitars but I do know that my concert sized helped a lot with achy arm.

Why not get a full sized parlor guitar? Much much smaller depending on what sized you’re used to. If you like your fender, their parlor (CP-60S) was really nice when I tried it out at a store and should be around your price range.

I’ve got a fender CC size. I may well get a parlour one but I’d like to know if a 3/4 may enable me to practice for longer without and aching arm too. It’s my left arm that aches, not the right.

1 Like

Hmm, I’m assuming the aching then would be due to stretching out your left arm while fretting? The average scale length of the 3/4 guitar is smaller still than even a parlor so if it’s the stretching out your arm that’s is causing the aching than the 3/4 will def help.

Again, I’ve no experience with 3/4 sized guitars but I can’t imagine it not helping you get better at playing the guitar in general. The only thing that would happen is you’d have to get used to the size when grabbing your larger guitar. I know smaller scale guitars are really popular used as travel guitars or just guitars for people with smaller frames.

2 Likes

Hi Liz: