Small hands

Hi. Brand new to the site. Can anyone tell me what size hands are regarded as small hands ? Many thanks

1 Like

Welcome to the site, Chris.

When it comes to playing guitar, I’d consider something like this to be “small hands:”

:slight_smile:

But seriously, your hand size is probably not as big a deal as you might think. I suppose there is a perfectly proportioned set of ideal hands for playing guitar, but very few of us possess those hands. And yet we still play just fine. Players with big huge hands and fat fingers. Players with short skinny fingers. Little kids. Strapping 6’3" lads. Et cetera. My advice is to not sweat it. Just work with what you’ve got and practice.

5 Likes

Welcome back Chris
Guitars also come with different neck widths and profiles from 2in wide to 1 5/8 and as thin as and inch. So I’m pretty sure you can find one the will fits your hands.
My wife has small hands and has no problem playing her Ibanez acoustic.

Welcome, @Pele10 !

I’m a beginner who feels I struggle with small hands. (ETA: tip of thumb to tip of pinky measures 7.5 inch.) And short arms. Seriously, I have a -2 inch deficit in arm length compared to height where most people have 0 deficit or are even longer in wingspan than their height. Anyway, I play full size electrics (with thin necks) and a dreadnought acoustic. Playing these is probably doable for me, though I’m pretty sure what I’m feeling is that, the dreadnought especially, they’re too big for me to be fully comfortable. I have been playing some smaller guitars in the shops, and really really like the Martin 000 size acoustics. For electrics, I haven’t honed it down yet but would probably be one of the Fender small scale guitars.

I don’t know typical hand sizes. I am of modest size for a guy. 5’ 6”, 150 lbs.

My hand span, tip of thumb to tip of little finger splayed as far as possible, is roughly 8.5”. Likely, this is medium to small.