Song App vs Song book

Hi,

I’m a complete beginner. I’m struggling to find songs to play so was going to get the song app and the song books for level 1. Do I need both or just the app?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I would try the App first and see how it goes, you might want the songbook(s) at a later date.

2 Likes

The app is going to be free for 7 days and then it’s roughly £7-£8 month after that. A lot of new beginners seem to like the song part of the app to start with as you’ll “play along” with a backing band and at the start it’ll give you more a sense of progress. A lot of people after a while say they “can’t play the songs on their own” which is probably because it’s presented in a “follow along” format with the chords scrolling by and you playing them at the right point. IT doesn’t encourage you to learn the songs by heart or present the chords in a full song format (unless you diligently write them down). For a new beginner it’s great…for a progressing beginner perhaps not.

The songs books come into their own when you want to break away from the app and start playing (and singing perhaps) songs on your own. You have a couple of pages for most songs with full chords and lyrics…usually some guidance from Justin on how to play them and - as you progress - how to add things in to make them more complicated. In addition most (not all) of the songs have a video lesson on YouTube as well. My personal opinion is they are great.

6 Likes

This is exactly where I’m at! I have been exclusively playing with the app, when it came to Grade 1 consolidation, the objective to memorise 5 songs was extremely difficult!! And way out of my comfort zone from playing with the app.

I also feel you miss out a lot with the app in terms of flexibility, take strumming for example, it only ever recommends a single strum type, where some may change from verse, chorus etc.

2 Likes