Sound_Bound's Learning Log

Reflections on Grade 1

With a background of being a self taught, perpetual beginner it felt like a better foundation was needed. So January was all about scorched earth, starting in module 1. I’m so, so, glad to have taken the time to do this, as I’ve learnt a lot.

It’s taken just shy of 3 months to get to the end of Grade 1. Here, are my biggest lessons -

1. Have the right guitar (for me), setup well - A change to smaller body guitar with lighter strings has been fantastic.
  2. Good posture - I had been holding the guitar all flavours of wrong. It was causing shoulder pain and limiting hand coordination. I’ll remind myself occasionally to do a body scan to see if/where I’m holding tension.
  3. The importance of striving to maintain clean strumming rhythm over clean chord changes. I used to be the person that would pause to do a difficult chord change.
  4. Clean rhythm - practice with a metronome. Start on a slow tempo and only increase the rpm in line with what I can play consistently.
  5. Chord change speed - if any of them are slowing a song down, take them out to 1 minute changes for focussed practice. Learning C with a muted 6th string, A with new finger position and DM were my hardest ones.
  6. Perfect chord practice - pay attention to which strings are silent. I previously didn’t know how to mute strings and had a fairly hit and miss success rate of whether I was avoiding the 6th string if needed, or conversely not playing a full rounded chord if all 6 strings should be sounding.
  7. The beat & the strumming arm - keep it sync’d and moving - this one I still slip up on as it’s been a hard habit to break only strumming on a note.
  8. Strumming - did I mention it? It deserves repeating. Learning Old Faithful and then all the different ways of mixing and matching strumming against 4/4 and 6/8 timing has been a slow burn to take on board from my previous ‘one size fits all’ approach.