Squire telecaster going out of tune

I started learning to play the guitar in June 23, and not knowing anything about guitars, I bought a Squier affinity telecaster. I like this guitar a lot but it needs tuning every day before practice. I thought this is normal on a guitar of this price. However, while being away from home, I borrowed a guitar from a friend. It must have been an incredibly cheap guitar (a no brand guitar - strat copy) bought very cheap. It’s been fine for practicing and it stays very nicely in tune. I hardly ever have to tune it, and then only a slight tweak. This is certainly not the case with my telecaster. So my question is what do I have to do to my telecaster to stop it going out of tune so fast? Is it just a case of changing the tuners on the headstock? Or is there something else I have to look at? If it’s just a case of changing the tuners, does anyone have a good suggestion which to buy? There seem to be many different tuners available. Will I have to drill different size holes in the headstock or will new tuners fit into the holes already there?

Thanks, Ian

I don’t know the answer, and certainly my Fender Tele is very stable, but out of interest, do you find it’s all of the strings that go out of tune, or just selected ones?

All need a bit of tuning every day. Some strings definitely stay in tune better than others. The worst are G and string 6 (E). The best is String 1 (E).

I find my guitars (steel and nylon acoustic) need tuning most days. The biggest factor being stability of the environment.

Lots of things affect the need to tune.

Newer strings need more tuning as they settle. Older strings need more tuning as they approach the ends of their lives.

The number and manner of wraps on the tuning post makes a difference. I wrap as few times as possible. Definitely helps a lot.

The type of string can as well. Nylon, steel, silk and steel, round, hex…