Stain on pickup cover (need advice)

Hey guys,
So while playing my strat I keep hitting the middle pickup and it got some red marks from my guitar pick.
How can I can remove these marks? Thank you!

Hi Lucas, welcome to the Community!

I’m no expert, but my approach to stains on hard surfaces is one of gradually increasing aggressiveness.

I start with a microfibre cloth dampened with tapwater.
if that doesn’t work I try adding some washing up liquid.
next I go to vinegar or lemon juice. (with all these liquids be careful to just dampen the cloth, you don’t want to flood the electrics)
failing that I’ll try toothpaste or a paste of water and bicarbonate of soda (N.B. slightly abrasive)
It can be worth a try with WD-40, which contains mild solvents
and if all else fails, acetone (obtainable in small bottles from any pharmacy) - N.B. no responsibility taken for anything melted.

or you could leave it as proof that your guitar is played enthusiastically, not just an ornament! (and stop using red picks! :grinning:)

1 Like

People pay a lot for a relic’d guitar…

2 Likes

I wouldn’t use acetone. That can eat into plastic. One thing you could try is methylated spirits. Use it on a cotton bud. Also good old-fashioned spit works as a gentle stain remover.

1 Like

Good point well made. Hence my disclaimer of responsibility for anything melted! I’d position meths in my list after WD-40 and before acetone.

bad idea

REALLY bad idea. :slight_smile: (sorry Ian! No offense intended!) Acetone is too good at dissolving plastics and probably guitar finishes. I would not let it get near my guitars. Even rubbing alcohol is risky.

If a little scrubbing with some soap or detergent lightly rubbed on the damp cloth won’t clean it, you can try the abrasive (toothpaste), but that won’t solve the problem, it will come back. Whatever you try here, apply the solvent or cleaning agent to the damp cloth, not the guitar. Keep it very lightly applied to the pickup.