Stand By Me - Beginner Grade 1 Practice & a Medley

Hi all. I’m at the consolidation stage of Beginner Grade 1 and I’m working on my 5 songs ‘from memory’

I made this video today and I cringe when I watch it! I don’t take my eyes off my fretting hand, hit a few duff notes and my changes to the C chord are abysmal in this for some reason, etc!

When the camera’s not rolling, I know I do a lot better than this but I guess this is why Justin suggests recording as it perhaps emulates a bit of stage fright if you’re not playing in front of others.

Anyway, here we go…

https://youtu.be/Qrt9yn8sGoQ

A few blunders and ‘stage fright’ aside, I’d love some feedback as to where I currently am on this song and whether this would be classified as ‘passable’ for one of my 5 songs at the consolidation stage please. Should I work some more on this before re-recording/uploading more songs?

6 Likes

I’m still a beginner myself , with that said …I’d be well happy with that progress. Most of the mistakes don’t detract to much and you always battle through! I thought the strumming & chord changes good for grade 1. Takes a long time to perfect songs. For me I like to cycle through a few songs rather than sticking with one, tend to find when I come back to the song I can make quicker progress & keeps things more interesting for me.

1 Like

I can relate to the stage fright an nerves , only 6 months in myself and did the same this week , that look when you miss a chord as well is so me lol
Don’t beat yourself up that was great

that C chords a toughty eh

1 Like

Thanks. I cycle between 8 or 9 different songs while practicing.

Here’s a little medley of the 5 I’ll probably do full vids of…

https://youtu.be/rVrKXm7Czjg

The hard part is self-critique and knowing if I should progress or keep practicing. Justin says to hit the chords right more than 50% of the time which I think I am but I know there’s more to it than just that.

3 Likes