Struggling with strumming fast songs

Hi everyone,

So lately I have been struggling with strumming a lot. It is mostly when I attempt to play faster songs, like Save tonight by Eagle eye cherry or Little talks by monsters and men. As soon as I get to the correct tempo, my pick gets sort of stuck on the strings (especially with up strums) or just gets out of control completely and my upper arm starts cramping up a lot. This only happens with faster songs and only when the pattern has lots of up strums involved, it doesn’t happen when I play songs with a pumping 8s down strums. I started justins’ strumming sos course and try to relax my arm and all but I feel very frustrated. It also happens with power chord songs. Up to this day I still can’t play Smells like teen spirit at the original tempo, because my arm cramps up and I lose control of my pick.

I feel like I should not be still experiencing these issues because I have been playing for 4,5 years now. Of course, if I practiced more in those years, say 1 hour per day consistently, I would no doubt be better at certain things but still, I do practice and try to play somewhat every day and the last couple of weeks I am up to approximately 1 hour per day.

Do you have any tips on how to fix the problem of the arm cramping up, the pick getting out of control and getting able to play those songs? And do any of you ever get frustrated with where you are and where you wish you would have been in your journey?

Love to hear from you.

Greets,

Inge

1 Like

What thickness of pick are you using? Thinner is easier and as you get more comfortable you can go thicker again. I started on 0.46mm, moved to 0.60 after a while and am about to experiment with 0.73mm now

3 Likes

On the subject of frustration, I’ve learned to recognise it and let it go. It’s very much a mindset that I’ve had learn to adopt.