Strumming, singing, and changing chords - My first go

Hello all,
I’d like feedback and I’d like to share my progress in strumming and singing.

1.My first stage of strumming and singing looked like all downstrums and changing chords after every two verses with my original songs. I did not follow bars, I just went along with the verses I wrote.
2. Now, my recent video below is where I follow the pattern [1 A] [2 -] [3 D] [4 -]. Basically 2 downstrums in each bar and between 1st and 3rd beat I change chords in the beat. Thus, I provide background music that I can sing to and chord changes are not tied to verses. I’d say this is a step forward from chord changes happening only with verse changes

The thing I noticed about the slow rhythm is that hitting the wrong strings is really noticeable, so playing this rhythm really forced me to get better at strumming the right strings.

I am a beginner, so I know I need polishing in general. I’d like comments on: how to chords sound, did I keep the same tempo throughout the song?, my chord changes, my strumming dynamics, do I “look” right holding and playing guitar?

Thanks so much in advance.

1 Like

Hi Husain pretty good attempt in my eyes for a beginner! Obviously there is still some things to be worked on but overall love the idea to sing along even to such a simple patterns! Will pay dividends in the future.

Chord changes haven’t been clear all the time, you are sort of changing your chords finger by finger rather than putting all grips at once. This you can practice with metronome and doing one minute changes. Start slow and build up speed once you feel comfortable with one you’ve been practicing.

Now onto the tempo - overall is good but sometimes timing gets messed up as you struggled with a chord change. Back to point one - one minute changes and perfect chord changes on top are your friends here.