Stuck learning scales ... I am ahead in theory, should I go back to the beginner course until I catch up

Hello,
Hopefully this is the right place to post this. I have been playing guitar for several years, just picking around with a few songs. So I decided to start Justin’s beginner guitar course to get a solid foundation and build on it. I made it through Grade one and it was during a lesson “Understanding Music Notes” that it dawned on me the importance of understanding music theory. Ultimately, I would love to improvise a solo over a chord progression. So I paused on the Beginner Guitar Course and dove into theory. I have progressed up to Module 4.2 “How to recognize keys by chord sequences.” During this lesson he talks about how to figure out the key of a chord progression and then to “try that scale over it to see if it works”.
My problem is, at this point, I still don’t know how to really play a scale. I know the pattern of the Major scale, but not really how to “play” it. The last theory lesson where he teaches you the major scale (Module 3: Major Scale Pattern 1) he asks that you just try to play over a backing track, which I’ve done (when I do this some notes match perfectly and some not as good, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten).
So my question is, should I still continue down the theory path, even not knowing how to properly use a major scale? Or should I go back to the Beginner Course? Does he teach you more about scales in those courses? I’m not sure where to go to get a better grasp of it at this point?
Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hi Dave

My advice would be go back to the Beginners course which will cover scales and improvisation, especially in Grades 2 and 3. Sometime its better to let the theory lag behind the practice. Learn how to do it first, then worry about why and how it works. It will make more sense that way. Might also be worth looking at this lesson.

Cheers

Toby
:sunglasses:

3 Likes