Switch to nylon?

I am a lefty beginner player (65) and am really enjoying the acoustic guitar over my electric. Considering adding a nylon string acoustic. I have chunky and clumsy fingers and thought the wider nut would help (EG Cordoba C5.) Also I am more into country,folk, easy ballad style music with some fingerpicking. Unfortunately I am nowhere near a guitar outlet so will be buying blind. youtube is my friend.
Any opinions welcome.

2 Likes

A nylon string classical guitar like the Cordoba C5 will excel for fingerpicking. If you like the sound of nylon string guitars (and who doesn’t?), and you have an interest in fingerstyle playing then I’d say go for it. Fingerstyle is pretty much of what they’re designed for.

FWIW, my main guitar is a Martin OM-35 (steel string), but I also have a Cordoba C9 Parlor (nylon string). The Cordoba is fantastic for fingerstyle. I probably wouldn’t choose it for a strumming song, though (although there are no rules, of course – and look at Willie Nelson and Trigger). You can hear my Cordoba C9 on this track:

As a final comment, I wouldn’t necessarily “switch” to a nylon string guitar, but having one in your arsenal (and maybe even making it your main guitar) is good.

2 Likes

@J.W.C sounded really good. Yes I agree I wouldn`t switch totally. The other alternative would be a steel string halfway like an Alvarez AG60 ( 13/4 nut) Some thought required. So many options :smile:

Don’t forget the crossover nylon guitars. They are in between, often (but not always) with 14 fret necks (classical guitars traditionally have a neck that joins at the 12th fret), nuts that are 48mm instead of 52mm (plus or minus) and may have a radiused instead of flat fretboard profile.

There is even a set of strings, John Pearse folk finger style, that are low tension for classical guitars but can sound a bit more like steel strings.