Telecasters: General knowledge

Hi. I recently saw an amazing, old guitarist perform. He was playing a telecaster-shaped guitar.

After his band had finished performing, I went up to him to congratulate. I requested him to allow me to play his guitar for a few minutes. He lowered the volume, and I started playing. I found that the action was set quite high. He told me this particular guitar was made by a luthier friend for him, and he likes to play with such high action. I could barely play for a few minutes, I found it difficult to move my fingers on the fretboard.

I mainly play an Epiphone SG (set low). I play in a cover band, and our bassist sets up our instruments.

Is action always set high on telecasters? Does it contribute to their (for the lack of a better word) twangy sound? Did I find a telecaster shaped guitar hard to play because my Epiphone SG has a different fingerboard radius than telecasters in general?

I will appreciate if someone could help me gain some general knowledge on this. Thank you very much.

Generally speaking no, action height is a personal preference, and a tele can happily have a low action.

It is possible that it had the Fender 7.25 radius fingerboard and for that sometimes people will raise the action a bit to stop bends chocking out higher up the neck, but I’ve got a 7.25 inch strat and the action is pretty low on that with no issues for me.

There are advantages to high action if you are an aggressive player for example.

Regarding why you found it hard to play, it’s difficult to say. What made it feel difficult, were you playing rhythm, lead, both? In my personal experience fingerboard radius actually doesn’t make as much difference to playability as some people are led to believe.

If you’re interested in a tele, I’d get to a shop and play some - this was a custom made job and chances are it won’t play exactly like a Fender or have the same set up.

5 Likes