Tension in arm when palm muting on an acoustic

When I palm mute on an acoustic guitar, I find that I maintain tension in my right arm/shoulder. If I just relax my arms and shoulders and let my right arm fall rest over the top of the guitar, my palm naturally sits parallel with the strings and about 2 or 3 inches away from the guitar.

This is fine for normal picking, but if I then want to bring my palm closer (touching) the guitar to mute, I bring my elbow forward a small amount and use my shoulder/arm muscles to do this and maintain it.

Its not so much of an issue when playing an electric with a slimmer body. I’ve tried rotating my wrist intead, changing height of my right leg etc, but can’t seem to get it tension-free. Has anyone else experienced this? Or is it just normal to have a bit of shoulder/arm muscle use when palm muting and I should stop trying to “correct” this?

Hi Sajid

Firstly it’s important for me to say that I am no expert in the ergonomics of guitar playing or guitar posture or anything. However, I have struggled with tension whilst playing guitar in lots of places you might not expect and have learned to maintain what I’ll call an “tension monitor” in my head whilst I am playing. I try to notice the tension, acknowledge it and intentionally relax the area that is tense without changing much about the way I am physically playing. Many times just noticing the tension and consciously trying to relax that area is very helpful. After looking at a significant amount of information on this topic I have come to the conclusion that while tension is not a good thing it is a natural thing particularly when you are teaching muscles how to do new things.