The C Chord

Ready to learn the C chord? It’s not the easiest, but it’s a must! Lesson here.

1 Like

I’m curious why it’s necessary to mute the low-E string when playing the C chord. Why not just avoid hitting that string like when playing the A or Am chords? I’m just learning the C and find that I can either mute the E string or play the A string; doing both has been very very hard.

5 Likes

Hi Ben , you can play C in both ways. You need to either mute the low E or not play it in order that the C note remains the root of the chord. The exceptions would be if you were playing an inversion of the C chord.

1 Like

Hello @benriga and welcome to the community.

You also do this. Unlike A and Am you do have a finger on the 5th string giving the option of placing it down in such a way so as to mute the 6th string. THen you have two means of keeping the 6th string from sounding out. Not hitting it. Muting it.
:slight_smile:

Got it. Thanks Eddie and Richard. It’s only been a day since started learning C. I’ll keep trying and figure out which way works best for me.

2 Likes

Its always best (habit) to mute strings you dont want sounding anyhow.

1 Like

Yep, anything that’s forgiving of sloppy strumming is good in my book!

1 Like

Good Afternoon, I was wondering roughly how long it should take you practicing daily the finger stretches to be able play the c chord. I have been at it for over a month and my finger stretches are almost no better than when I started. It is really slow to transition from any other chord I have learned so far.
Thank You
Jack

1 Like

Jack everyone is different.

Are you practicing fast chord changes? Aka as many in 60 seconds as you can do?
C-A or C-E?

Also position of the guitar and hand/thumb can help or hinder a lot.

Getting speed and flexibility plus strength into your hand for guitar takes a long time.

2 Likes