The Notes Don't Matter: A lesson in improvisation

This video has significantly helped me improve and enjoy improvisation. I’ve been playing for a a few years now. I know the major and minor pentatonic scales, the major and minor scales and the modes. I can play them in any key. My picking hand is improving. I know some classic licks and riffs. I can play along with backing tracks. I can use a looper and yet, it was still a struggle to come up with something I felt was consistently reasonably good.

Then I came across the video below and it explained a huge piece of the puzzle. Sometimes I’d listen to a track by an expert guitarist and try to improvise along, copying some of the phrases as best I could. Then I’d make a loop and try again and it would be good, for a while, then I’d lose it and not know why. I wasn’t exactly copying note for note, but I was enjoying it and creating some enjoyable music. So what was going on? What was I losing? Some of you may have had the same experience.

The answer is “rhythmic vocabulary”. It’s something I’d never given much thought to and I can’t recall learning about it in any of the many lessons I’ve watched online. The online information is generally showing you how to play “the right notes”. So one ends up thinking melodically. Which note should I play next? Which scale should I use? Which arpeggio will work with this? Do I need to make the changes over these 7th chords? Should I be concentrating on chord tones? You know the stuff. Never giving much thought to the rhythmic patterns being used.

The video below is saying don’t worry so much about the notes, you already know them. Think about creating a groove. Get a cool groove going because that’s what makes it musical.