The right way to play A chord

Hello All,

Ive seen that Justin Guitar Grade 1 teaches a nonstandard way to play the A chord that is set up to be easier for chord changes.

Im a little concerned that it will be hard to learn the standard way later. I learn slowly, and I worry about learning a different method later.

Any thoughts here about my concern?

I learned the way Justin recommended and it helped me heaps in the early days. Now I play it in a different non standard way (like a mini barre chord).

I started playing G one way. I now have 4 different ways I finger the G chord depending on the song.

Donā€™t be overly concerned. :slight_smile:

If playing the way Justin recommends helps you, go for it. If it doesnā€™t, change. Use what works for you and donā€™t worry about what doesnā€™t.

7 Likes

tbh I didnt get the hang of justins way went back to the traditional way

2 Likes

You may never want to change to the ā€œstandardā€ A chord grip. I vastly prefer the Justin way, as it makes it so easy to ā€œsusā€ it, or go to A7.

2 Likes

I had the exact same experience. Justinā€™s non-standard helped me greatly in the beginning, especially with A E D changes. Now that Iā€™m 6 months into the program and have completed grade 3 I find myself using all three styles of A chord that Tony mentioned depending on the song. One difficulty I had with the non-standard was my first finger got sore pretty fast

4 Likes

The A chord grip taught by Justin was the one that I learned from a guitar chord book back in the early 90s on my first learning attempt.

1 Like

Tried both early on, preferred the one taught by Justin, and have yet to find a reason to use the other.