The tone knob does nothing

Literally. My tone knob does nothing. I have an Ibanez GRX40 and I just noticed that when I adjust the tone knob from 1 to 10 it makes zero difference to the sound that comes out. My girlfriend has verified this.

Is there anything I should do? I’m relatively new to getting to know the insides of my guitar and I’m not sure where to start.

Thanks!

I noticed that, on most guitar, the tone know does nothing to little.
when it does something, it’s often a change from open/clear to muffled on one specific spot, while the rest of the range is either muffled or open :smiley:

Tone knobs are, to me, the longest and most widely supported scam in guitar land :stuck_out_tongue:

The only guitar where it works, is my custom electric, where I asked for a tone knob that WORKS :smiley:
Yes, it’s effect isn’t really wow.
I just turn them all open by default :stuck_out_tongue:

Don’t bother messing with it, just set it in one position and compensate on your amp if you want to change the tone, it’s quite common on low end guitars to be like that.
What’s happened with the PRS SE Silversky you asked about before?

Won’t be in until April 5th, I’m pumped for it though. Thanks for the advice!

1 Like

My experience on cheaper guitars ( and more expensive ones) is that the tone knob does little. I expect it’s a throwback to times when amps etc were simpler and stomp pedals were few and far between. No doubt it was one of the few FX available. The volume knob on the other hand is useful even today.

The tone knob on my G&L Tribute Fallout goes from sweet and pure to gnarly and nasty, with every increment in between.

Just like me :angel: :japanese_ogre:

7 Likes

Oh what an Angel Maggie and you are then very lucky!

1 Like

No, don’t believe that you could be gnarly and nasty………….could you……:innocent:………….:triumph: :grinning::grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes::grin::laughing::joy:

1 Like