The word "Theory"

If your like me I think it was the word Theory that turned me away from the Music Theory lessons when I started playing guitar. It almost makes it sound like a science class or something not very fun. And maybe more advanced Music Theory will be like that, but the first 2 lessons that Justin has that are free are not like that at all.

I also thought it was for more advanced players but really if you know a few chords and a little strumming, Music Theory is a great thing to start. After going through the first 2 lessons it made stuff so much clearer to me and I understood things better. So even if your just beginning I would strongly recommend starting Music Theory early. And a big thanks to Justin for these and all the lessons.

https://www.justinguitar.com/classes/practical-fast-fun-music-theory

8 Likes

Absolutely and not to be a salesperson but it is really great course behind the paid sub. Of course there are some more complicated concepts which I plan to revisit once I up my skill, but I dare to say it’s the best darn thing out there in the world wide web available which is super well explained and a bargain cost wise. So yes agree with you and hope you will enjoy further lessons :blush:

1 Like

@adi_mrok Yeah, it is definitely something I will continue with as I progress. Just the fact that someone can point to a position on the fretboard and I can say what note that is. That is huge to me. I don’t have them all memorized but it’s really easy for me to figure out now. Looking at those charts of a guitar neck with all the dots just made my head hurt. And thinking there’s no way I can memorize this. But learning how it works, it is so simple to me now.

Dave

1 Like

I agree about the word “Theory” being a bit off-putting. I’m trying to think of a better word or way of describing it than theory, but haven’t really come up with anything better.